Theo Deutinger
Theo Deutinger (*1971) is an architect, urbanist, and curator. He is founder and head of The Department (TD), a practice that combines architecture and urban design with analytic research. With his office, he works at all levels from global planning to architecture to graphic design and curatorial works. Deutinger is known for his theoretical writings on the transformation of European urban culture and his publications such as the 'Handbook of Tyranny' and ‘Joy and Fear’. His work has been shown at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam (Netherlands, 2017), Storefront for Architecture in New York (USA, 2019), and the Swiss Architecture Museum in Basel (Switzerland 2020) among others.

Theo Deutinger lives and works in Austria.

Pia Prantl
Leads The Department of architecture and spatial planning. Pia Prantl gained experience in architecture offices like Brandlhuber+, Stadtlabor and Snøhetta but is also experienced in landscape design and exhibition design. She graduated with her master thesis at the University of Innsbruck.

Charlotte Kaulen
Leads The Department of communication and coordination. Charlotte Kaulen studied urban planning (B.Sc.) at the HafenCity University in Hamburg and completed her master's degree in European Urban Studies at the Bauhaus University Weimar.

Mona Swiczinsky

Barbara Krajcar

Niko Görge


Collaborators (former and/or present)

Joan Alcobé Alonso (Spain)
Filip Cieloch (Poland)
Ioanna Chatzikonstantinou (Greece)
Kit Chow (Hong Kong)
Christopher Clarkson (South Africa)
Liam Cooke (Great Britain)
Catarina Dantas (Portugal)
Simon Davis (Germany)
Romuald Dehio (Germany)
Lisa Deipenbrock (Germany)
Luca Deutinger (Austria)
Marlene Deutinger (Austria)
Andrea Falkner (Austria)
Stefanos Filippas (Greece)
Haoge Gan (China)
Conxa Gene Garcia (Spain)
Philipp Goedhart (Austria)
Martino Greco (Italy)
Michael Hadjistyllis (Cyprus)
Nobahar Haidarian (Iran)
Shelia Jap (Indonesia)
Marilia Kaisar (Greece)
Jolande Kirschbaum (Germany)
Andreas Kofler (Italy)
Theresia Kohlmayr (Austria)
Marieke Kums (The Netherlands)
Charlie Küntsch (Luxembourg)
Nina Maeno (France)
Ana Rita Marques (Portugal)
Elisa Mante (Greece)
Dario Marino (Italy)
Vasiliki Mavrikaki (Greece)
Elena Megia Nieto (Spain)
Federica Muccichini (Italy)
Christopher Pandolfi (Canada)
Johannes Pointl (Austria)
Laura Polidoro (Italy)
Stefan Prins (the Netherlands)
Hema Priya Kabali (India)
Joao Prates Ruivo (Portugal)
Beatriz Ramo (Spain)
Thomas Raben-Lange (Denmark)
Kerstin Reyer (Germany)
Samatha Rees (Canada)
Frank Rödiger (Germany)
Yoko Sano (Japan)
Katja Schneider (Germany)
Andrew Snow (Canada)
Nikolas Susanto (Indonesia)
Arseniy Sverdlov (Netherlands/Russia)
Tomasz Świetlik (Poland)
Bernd Upmeyer (Germany)
Lucia de Usera (Spain)
Federica Vazzana (Italy)
Paul Valeanu (Romania)
Ekaterina Vititneva (Russia)
Barbara Weingartner (Austria)
Tianrong Wu (China)